Skip Navigation

Tyne Daly, Ben Vereen & More Named to Theater Hall of Fame

Tyne Daly, Ben Vereen & More Named to Theater Hall of Fame
Tyne Daly & Ben Vereen
Tony winner Tyne Daly and Ben Vereen will be inducted into the Theater Hall of Fame.

Tony Award-winning actors Tyne Daly and Ben Vereen are among the artists being inducted into the Theater Hall of Fame in 2012, along with director Daniel Sullivan, producers George White, Elliot Martin and Woodie King Jr., costume designer Ann Roth and posthumously, director Paul Sills. The 41st annual induction ceremony will be held January 30, 2012, in the Gershwin Theatre's North Rotunda, hosted by Oscar winner Estelle Parsons.

Daly, who recently starred in the Broadway revival of Master Class, earned a Tony Award for her performance in Gypsy and a Tony nomination for her performance in Rabbit Hole. Her other Broadway credits include The Seagull and That Summer – That Fall. She is a six-time Emmy Award winner for her work on Cagney and Lacey, Christy and Judging Amy.

Vereen earned a Tony Award for Pippin and a Tony nomination for Jesus Christ Superstar. He has also been seen on Broadway in Hair, Grind, Jelly's Last Jam, Fosse, I'm Not Rappaport and Wicked.

Roth has earned Tony nominations for The Book of Mormon, The House of Blue Leaves, The Crucifer of Blood, The Royal Family and Slow Dance on the Killing Ground. Sullivan is a Tony winner for Proof, and was a nominee for his work on The Merchant of Venice, Rabbit Hole, Morning's at Seven, The Sisters Rosenweig, Conversations With My Father and The Heidi Chronicles.

Martin is a Tony Award nominee for A Touch of the Poet, Angels Fall, American Buffalo, Glengarry Glen Ross, Joe Turner's Come and Gone, The Circle, Shadowlands, She Loves Me and won a Special Tony in 1974 for A Moon for the Misbegotten. King produced the Broadway productions of What the Wine-Sellers Buy, The First Breeze of Summer, Reggae, for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf and Checkmates.

White is the founder and president of the Eugene O'Neill Theater Center and hosted the National Playwrights Conference, National Critics Institute and National Music Theater Conference. He was a longtime co-chair of the Theater Management Program at Yale, and founding chair of the Sundance Theater Institute and the National Council on the Arts.

Founded in 1971, the Theater Hall of Fame honors theater professionals for Lifetime Achievement. Eligible nominees must have a minimum of five major credits and 25 years in the Broadway theater, and inductees are voted on by the American Theater Critics Association and the members of the Theater Hall of Fame.

Video On Demand
Sponsored by:
This Show is in
High Demand
We just released a new round of tickets with the best availability between November 7, 2017 and March 5, 2018. If you are unable to find tickets today, check back soon!