Skip Navigation

Leap of Faith - Broadway

Raúl Esparza headlines this inspired new musical.

Despite Closing, Leap of Faith Will Perform at the 2012 Tony Awards

Despite Closing, Leap of Faith Will Perform at the 2012 Tony Awards
Raul Esparza in 'Leap of Faith'
The cast of 'Leap of Faith' will perform at the 2012 Tony Awards ceremony.

Despite closing, Leap of Faith, the Tony-nominated musical that starred Raúl Esparza, will perform at the 2012 Tony Awards on June 10, according to The New York Times. Nominated for Best Musical (its sole nomination), the show closed on May 13 at the St. James Theatre. At the time of closing, Leap of Faith had played 24 preview performances and 20 regular performances. 

Leap of Faith reportedly lost more than $14 million, yet producers made the decision to go forward and stage a musical number on the Tony Awards telecast on CBS, raising a reported $150,000 to secure a spot for the segment. Production numbers on the Tonys typically cost between $150,000 and $200,000 per musical, and each show’s producers foot the bill.

“The show received a Tony nomination for best musical, so it’s standard to perform on the Tonys,” stated a Leap of Faith spokesperson. “The producers love Leap of Faith and wanted to do the number.” No word yet on which song or cast members will be featured. 

Directed by Christopher Ashley, the show features music by Menken, lyrics by Glenn Slater, a book by Janus Cercone and Warren Leight and choreography by Sergio Trujillo.

 Based on the 1992 film of the same name, Leap of Faith follows full-time con artist Jonas Nightingale (Esparza) as his traveling ministry breaks down in a small Kansas town. He quickly pitches a tent and invites the locals to a revival. The town sheriff, Marla McGowan (Jessica Phillips), is determined to stop him from separating the townspeople from their money.

In addition to Esparza and Phillips, the cast also featured Kendra Kassebaum as Sam, Kecia Lewis-Evans as Ida Mae Sturdevant, Leslie Odom, Jr. as Isaiah Sturdevant, Krystal Joy Brown as Ornella Sturdevant and Talon Ackerman as Jake Humes. The ensemble includes Hettie Barnhill, Kyle Brenn, Ta’Rea Campbell, Michelle Duffy, Lynorris Evans, Manoly Farrell, Dierdre Friel, Bob Gaynor, Lucia Giannetta, Angela Grovey, Louis Hobson, Tiffany Janene Howard, Grasan Kingsberry, Fletcher McTaggart, Maurice Murphy, Ian Paget, Terita Redd, Eliseo Román, Bryce Ryness, Ann Sanders, C.E. Smith, Danny Stiles, Dennis Stowe, Betsy Struxness, Roberta Wall and Virginia Ann Woodruff.

Video On Demand
Sponsored by:
This Show is in
High Demand
We just released a new round of tickets with the best availability between November 7, 2017 and March 5, 2018. If you are unable to find tickets today, check back soon!