Skip Navigation

Pippin Star Charlotte d’Amboise & Motown’s Eric LaJuan Summers Win 2013 Astaire Awards

Pippin Star Charlotte d’Amboise & Motown’s Eric LaJuan Summers Win 2013 Astaire Awards
Charlotte d'Amboise in 'Pippin'
'Pippin' star Charlotte d'Amboise and 'Motown' player Eric LaJuan Summers took home 2013 Astaire Awards.

Pippin star Charlotte d’Amboise and Motown player Eric LaJuan Summers took home the awards for Outstanding Female and Male Dancer in a Broadway show, respectively, at the 31st Annual Fred and Adele Astaire Awards. The ceremony was held June 3 at New York University’s Skirball Center for the Performing Arts.

Additionally, Pippin choreographer Chet Walker and Motown choreographers Patricia Wilcox and Warren Adams tied for Outstanding Choreographer of a Broadway show. Sidi Larbi Cherkaouit took home the award for Outstanding Choreographer in a Feature Film. The awards also honored dance legend Marge Champion its Douglas Watt Lifetime Achievement Award and Ted Chapin with a new award, Outstanding Achievement in the Preservation of Musical Theatre.

Established in 1982 by Fred Astaire and Douglas Watt, the Astaire Awards honor excellence in dance and choreography on Broadway and in film. The awards were presented by Patricia Watt (the daughter of Douglas Watt) and featured direction by Joe Lanteri. The evening included guest performances by Laura Osnes, Mary Testa, Christiane Noll and Anna Bergman.

D’Amboise earned Tony nominations for Jerome Robbins’ Broadway and A Chorus Line. Her additional Broadway credits include Cats, Song and Dance, Carrie, Damn Yankees, Company, Chicago, Contact and Sweet Charity. Summers has appeared on Broadway in Aida, The Wedding Singer, The Little Mermaid and Elf.

Video On Demand
Sponsored by:
This Show is in
High Demand
We just released a new round of tickets with the best availability between November 7, 2017 and March 5, 2018. If you are unable to find tickets today, check back soon!