Skip Navigation

Chiwetel Ejiofor, Helen Mirren & More Top London Evening Standard Awards Shortlist

Chiwetel Ejiofor, Helen Mirren & More Top London Evening Standard Awards Shortlist
Chiwetel Ejiofor & Helen Mirren
The shortlist for the 59th annual London Evening Standard Theatre Awards has been announced.

Find out who made the cut! The Audience favorite Helen Mirren, A Season in the Congo's Chiwetel Ejiofor, Old Times’ Kristin Scott Thomas, The Effect star Billie Piper and more will all vie for London Evening Standard Theatre Awards on November 17.The Book of Mormon, Tori Amos' The Light Princess and Chimerica by Lucy Kirkwood also received nods. The 59th annual ceremony will take place at the Savoy Hotel in London, with Homeland star Damian Lewis serving as the master of ceremonies. Read below for the full list of nominees.

Best Actor
Chiwetel Ejiofor, A Season in the Congo (Young Vic)
Rory Kinnear, Othello (National, Olivier)
Adrian Lester, Othello (National, Olivier)

Natasha Richardson Award For Best Actress
Linda Bassett, Roots (Donmar Warehouse)
Lesley Manville, Ghosts (Almeida)
Billie Piper, The Effect (National, Cottesloe)
Helen Mirren, The Audience (Gielgud)
Kristin Scott Thomas, Old Times (Harold Pinter)

Best Play
Lucy Kirkwood, Chimerica (Almeida)
Nick Dear, The Dark Earth and the Light Sky (Almeida)
Lucy Prebble, The Effect (National, Cottesloe)

Ned Sherrin Award For Best Musical
The Book of Mormon (Prince of Wales)
The Light Princess (National, Lyttleton)
Merrily We Roll Along (Menier Chocolate Factory & Harold Pinter)

Best Director
Richard Eyre, Ghosts (Almeida)
Nicholas Hytner, Othello (National, Olivier)
Rufus Norris, The Amen Corner (National, Olivier)
Lyndsey Turner, Chimerica (Almeida & Harold Pinter)

Best Design
Bob Crowley, People (National, Lyttelton); The Audience (Gielgud); Once (Phoenix)
Es Devlin, Chimerica (Almeida & Harold Pinter)
Tim Hatley (Design); Peter Mumford (Lighting); Ghosts (Almeida)

Charles Wintour Award For Most Promising Playwright
Rachel De-Lahay, Routes (Royal Court)
Rory Kinnear, The Herd (Bush)
Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Fleabag (Soho)

Milton Shulman Award For Outstanding Newcomer
Caoilfhionn Dunne, The Night Alive (Donmar Warehouse)
Seth Numrich, Sweet Bird of Youth (Old Vic)
Luke Thompson, A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Shakespeare’s Globe)
Olivia Vinall, Othello (National, Olivier)

Best Musical Performance
Rosalie Craig, The Light Princess (National, Lyttelton)
Cynthia Erivo, The Color Purple (Menier Chocolate Factory)
Charlotte Wakefield, The Sound of Music (Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre)

Video On Demand
Sponsored by:
This Show is in
High Demand
We just released a new round of tickets with the best availability between November 7, 2017 and March 5, 2018. If you are unable to find tickets today, check back soon!