Skip Navigation

The Orphans' Home Cycle Part 1: The Story of a Childhood - Off-Broadway

Part One of Horton Foote's The Orphans' Home Cycle.

The Orphans’ Home Cycle Wins New York Drama Critics' Circle Award

The Orphans’ Home Cycle Wins New York Drama Critics' Circle Award

Bill Heck, Maggie Lacey, Hallie Foote & cast in 'Orphans Home Cycle'

No awards were given this year for Best Musical or Best Foreign Play.

Horton Foote’s The Orphans’ Home Cycle is the winner of New York Drama Critics' Circle Award for Best Play of the 2009-2010 season. No awards were given for Best Musical or Best Foreign Play.

Special Citations were awarded to Lincoln Center Festival for visionary international programming and Viola Davis for sustained achievement. Ann Emerging Artist Special Citation was awarded to Annie Baker for Circle Mirror Transformation and The Aliens. The awards will be presented at a cocktail reception on May 10 at the Algonquin Hotel, where the NYDCC was founded in 1935 by such legendary critics as Brooks Atkinson, Walter Winchell and Robert Benchley.

The Best Play Award carries with it a cash prize of $2,500, made possible by a grant from the Lucille Lortel Foundation.

The New York Drama Critics’ Circle comprises 22 drama critics from daily newspapers, magazines, wire services and websites based in the New York metropolitan area. Adam Feldman of Time Out New York serves as president, Elisabeth Vincentelli of the New York Post serves as vice president, Joe Dziemianowicz of the Daily News is treasurer. Eric Grode is recording secretary.

The other members are Hilton Als of The New Yorker, Melissa Rose Bernardo of Entertainment Weekly, David Cote of Time Out New York, Michael Feingold of the Village Voice, Robert Feldberg of the Bergen Record, David Finkle of, Elysa Gardner of USA Today, Michael Kuchwara of the Associated Press, David Rooney, Frank Scheck of the New York Post, David Sheward of Back Stage, John Simon of Bloomberg News, Alexis Soloski of the Village Voice, Terry Teachout of the Wall Street Journal, Linda Winer of Newsday and Richard Zoglin of Time. Howard Kissel and Michael Sommers serve as emeritus members.

Video On Demand
Sponsored by:
This Show is in
High Demand
We just released a new round of tickets with the best availability between November 7, 2017 and March 5, 2018. If you are unable to find tickets today, check back soon!