Skip Navigation

Astaire Award Nominees Include Dancers from Come Fly Away, Fela! and Memphis

Astaire Award Nominees Include Dancers from Come Fly Away, Fela! and Memphis

Keith Roberts & Karine Plantadit in 'Come Fly Away'

Broadway's best dancers are honored at the Astaire Awards.

Nominees have been announced for the 2010 Fred and Adele Astaire Awards, which honor outstanding achievement in dance on Broadway and in film. The awards will be presented on June 7 at the Gerald Lynch Theater at John Jay College in a ceremony directed and featuring Lee Roy Reams. The nominees are as follows:

Broadway Choreographers
Bill T. Jones, Fela!
Twyla Tharp, Come Fly Away
Sergio Trujillo, Memphis
Marcia Milgrom Dodge, Ragtime
Steven Hoggett, American Idiot

Male Dancers
Charlie Neshyba-Hodges, Come Fly Away
Keith Roberts, Come Fly Away
John Selya, Come Fly Away
Maksim Chmerkovskiy, Burn the Floor
Memphis male ensemble (Brad Bass, Kevin Covert, Bryan Fenkart, Rhett George, John Jellison, John Eric Parker, Jermaine R. Rembert, Ephraim Sykes, Cary Tedder, Daniel J. Watts, Charlie Williams, James Brown III, Tyron Jackson)

Female Dancers
Karine Plantadit, Come Fly Away
Laura Mead, Come Fly Away
Holley Farmer, Come Fly Away
Savannah Wise, Ragtime
Nicole Chantal de Weever, Fela!
Fela! female ensemble (Hettie Vyrine Barnhill, Lauren de Veaux, Elasea Douglas, Rujeko Dumbutshena, Catherine Foster, Shaneeka Harrrell, Chanon Judson, Shakira Marshall, Afi McClendon, Jill Vallery, Iris Wilson, Aimee Graham Wodobode)

Film Choreographers (Fictional Film)
Marguerite Derricks, Fame
Rob Marshall and John Deluca, Nine
Lula Washington, Avatar

Directors (Documentary Dance Film)
Kenny Ortega, This is It
Frederick Wiseman, La Danse, Le Ballet de l'Opera de Paris
Ruedi Gerber, Breath Made Visible
Adam Del Deo and James D. Stern, Every Little Step

High School Musical director and choreographer Kenny Ortega will receive the Douglas Watt Lifetime Achievement Award.

Video On Demand
Sponsored by:
This Show is in
High Demand
We just released a new round of tickets with the best availability between August 15, 2017 and November 5, 2017. If you are unable to find tickets today, check back soon!