Skip Navigation

Alan Menken, Michael John LaChiusa and More to Receive Dramatists Guild Awards

 Alan Menken, Michael John LaChiusa and More to Receive Dramatists Guild Awards
Alan Menken
'Newsies' composer Alan Menken is among the recipients of this year's Dramatists Guild Awards.

The Dramatists Guild of America announced the recipients of their annual awards, which will be presented at a performance-packed ceremony on November 5. Tony-nominated writer Lisa Kron will host the ceremony at the New York Players Club, which will include performances by Amanda Green, Mary Testa and Kenita Miller.

Composers Alan Menken and Michael John LaChiusa will receive the Frederick Loewe Award for Dramatic Composition for their respective scores of Newsies and Queen of the Mist. In recognition of his play Sons of the Prophet, playwright Stephen Karam will be honored with the Hull-Warriner Award, which awards plays that tackle controversial religious and sociopolitical subjects. Playwright Philip Kan Gotanda will receive the Flora Roberts Award, given to a long-serving theater professional, and singer, writer, composer and director Micki Grant will receive the Guild’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Previous winners of the Dramatists Guild Awards include August Wilson, John Kander, Tracy Letts, Lanford Wilson, David Ives, Tom Kitt, Sheldon Harnick, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Terrence McNally, Steven Sater, Duncan Sheik, Arthur Miller, Horton Foote and Edward Albee.

Video On Demand
Sponsored by:
This Show is in
High Demand
We just released a new round of tickets with the best availability between November 7, 2017 and March 5, 2018. If you are unable to find tickets today, check back soon!