Skip Navigation This is an advertisement   skip this ad


Barbra Streisand to Receive Film Society of Lincoln Center's Chaplin Award

Barbra Streisand to Receive Film Society of Lincoln Center's Chaplin Award
Barbra Streisand
Barbra Streisand will receive the 2013 Chaplin Award.

Barbra Streisand will receive the Film Society of Lincoln Center's 2013 Chaplin Award, according to The New York Times. The two-time Oscar winner will be honored at the society’s annual gala on April 22.

Streisand is an Emmy, Grammy, Golden Globe, Oscar and Tony Award winner. She is the first and only American woman credited to have directed, written, starred in and produced a major feature film (1983’s Yentl). She is also the first female film director to receive a Kennedy Center Honor. Her screen credits include Funny Girl, Hello, Dolly!, The Way We Were, A Star is Born, The Guilt Trip, The Mirror Has Two Faces, The Prince of Tides, What’s Up, Doc? and the upcoming film adaptation of the Tony-winning musical Gypsy, in which she will direct and star.

The Film Society’s Annual Gala began in 1972 and honored Chaplin with the inaugural award, which he returned from a decades long U.S. absence to accept. Past recipients of the Chaplin Award also include Meryl Streep, Elizabeth Taylor, Al Pacino, Bette Davis, Jessica Lange, Dustin Hoffman, Diane Keaton, Alfred Hitchcock, Martin Scorsese, Tom Hanks, Mike Nichols, Audrey Hepburn, Shirley MacLaine, Sidney Poitier, Billy Wilder, Laurence Olivier, Fred Astaire and, last year, Catherine Deneuve.

Maybe Babs truly is "The Greatest Star" ever! Watch her perform the classic Funny Girl number below. 

Video On Demand
Sponsored by:
This Show is in
High Demand
Tickets to Hamilton on Broadway are extremely limited and sell out quickly. If you are unable to find tickets today, keep checking back for newly released seats.