Skip Navigation

The Piano Lesson, Here Lies Love, Detroit and More Top the 2013 Obie Awards

The Piano Lesson, Here Lies Love, Detroit and More Top the 2013 Obie Awards
Jason Dirden, Chuck Cooper & Brandon Dirden in 'The Piano Lesson'
The 2013 Obie Awards winner were announced on May 20.

The 58th Annual Village Voice Obie Awards were announced on May 20. Founded by Jerry Tallmer and chaired by Michael Feingold, the awards feature informal categories that change annually, recognizing persons and productions of excellence. This year’s Obies were held at Webster Hall and hosted by The Assembled Parties co-stars Jeremy Shamos and Jessica Hecht. Presenters for the evening included Bobby Cannavale, Maggie Grace, Cyndi Lauper, Judith Light, Krysta Rodriguez, Duncan Shiek and Courntey B. Vance. Oscar winner Meryl Streep also appeared to present the Obie's Lifetime Achievement Awards to off-Broadway stalwarts Lois Smith and Francis Sternhagen.

A complete list of winners is below:

Best New American Play (tie with $500 awarded to each playwright)
Lisa D’Amour, Detroit

Julia Jarcho, Grimly Handsome

Brandon J. Dirden, The Piano Lesson (Signature Theatre)
Shuler Hensley, The Whale (Playwrights Horizons)
Paul Thureen, Blood Play (The Debate Society/Bushwick Starr)
Eisa Davis, Sustained Excellence Award
Matthew Maher, Sustained Excellence Award

Ayad Akhtar, Disgraced (LCT3)
Annie Baker, The Flick (Playwrights Horizons)


Lear deBessonet
, The Good Person Of Szechuan (Foundry Theatre/La MaMa)
John Rando, All In The Timing (Primary Stages)
Ruben Santiago-Hudson, The Piano Lesson (Signature Theatre)
Eric Ting, We Are Proud To Present A Presentation... (Soho Rep)


Laura Jellinek, Sustained Excellence of Set Design
Clint Ramos, Sustained Excellence of Costume Design

Special Citations

David Levine and Marsha Ginsberg
, Habit (Crossing the Line Festival/FIAF & PS122)
Dave Malloy and Rachel Chavkin, Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812 (Ars Nova)
Nature Theater of Oklahoma, Life and Times: Episodes 1-4 (Public Theater/SoRep)

David Byrne & Fatboy Slim, Here Lies Love (Public Theater)

The Ross Wetzsteon Award (with check for $1000)
Clubbed Thumb

Fulcrum Theater
Half Straddle

Lifetime Achievement
Lois Smith

Frances Sternhagen

Video On Demand
Sponsored by:
This Show is in
High Demand
We just released a new round of tickets with the best availability between November 7, 2017 and March 5, 2018. If you are unable to find tickets today, check back soon!