Skip Navigation

Will Frozen Composer Robert Lopez Become the Record-Breaking 12th Member of the EGOT Club?

Will Frozen Composer Robert Lopez Become the Record-Breaking 12th Member of the EGOT Club?
Whoopi Goldberg, Mike Nichols, Scott Rudin, Robert Lopez, John Gielgud, Jonathan Tunick, Marvin Hamlisch, Mel Brooks, Richard Rodgers, Helen Hayes, Rita Moreno & Audrey Hepburn
Robert Lopez could win the coveted EGOT for his 'Frozen' song 'Let It Go.'

The man behind “Let It Go,” that super-catchy tune from Frozen that you can’t get out of your head, is very close to scoring a showbiz grand slam. Robert Lopez, who composed the new Disney blockbuster with his wife, Kristen Anderson-Lopez, is already the winner of three Tony Awards (for Avenue Q in 2004 and The Book of Mormon in 2011), a Grammy (for The Book of Mormon cast album) and two Daytime Emmy Awards (for Wonder Pets in 2008 and 2010…do Daytime Emmys count? It's up for debate, but we say yes). That means he’s only one Oscar away from the coveted EGOT—and now that “Let It Go” has nabbed a nomination for Best Original Song, we think his chances are pretty awesome.

If Lopez wins big at the Oscars, he will be the 12th member of the mega-exclusive club, which is amazing enough already—but he’ll also break an important record. Lopez will have completed his EGOT in 10 years, faster than any of the other winners! The current record holder, Rita Moreno, racked up all four awards in 16 years. We don’t want to jinx you, Bobby, but you’re about to join a group of legends!

Richard Rodgers: Emmy for Winston Churchill: The Valiant Years (1962); Grammy For The Sound of Music (1960); Oscar for “It Might as Well Be Spring” from State Fair (1945); Tony for South Pacific (1950)

Helen Hayes: Emmy for Schlitz Playhouse of Stars (1953); Grammy for Great American Documents (1976); Oscar for The Sin of Madelon Claudet (1932); Tony for Happy Birthday (1947)

Rita Moreno: Emmy for The Muppet Show (1977); Grammy for The Electric Company (1972); Oscar for West Side Story (1961); Tony for The Ritz (1975)

John Gielgud: Emmy for Summer’s Lease (1991); Grammy for Ages of Men (1979); Oscar for Arthur (1981); Tony for Big Fish, Little Fish (1961)

Audrey Hepburn: Gardens of the World with Audrey Hepburn (1993); Grammy for Audrey Hepburn’s Enchanted Tales (1994); Oscar for Roman Holiday (1953); Tony for Ondine (1954)

Marvin Hamlisch: Emmy for Barbra Streisand: The Concert (1995); Grammy for “The Way We Were” (1974); Oscar for The Way We Were and The Sting (1973); Tony for A Chorus Line (1976)

Jonathan Tunick: Emmy for Night of 100 Stars (1982); Grammy for “No One Is Alone” (1988); Oscar for A Little Night Music (1977); Tony for Titanic (1997)

Mel Brooks: Emmy for The Sid Caesar, Imogene Coca, Carl Reiner, Howard Morris Special (1967); Grammy for The 2000 Year Old Man in the Year 2000 (1998); Oscar for The Producers (1968); Tony for The Producers (2001)

Mike Nichols: Emmy for Wit (2001); Grammy for An Evening with Mike Nichols and Elaine May (1961); Oscar for The Graduate (1967); Tony for Barefoot in the Park (1964)

Whoopi Goldberg: Emmy for Beyond Tara: The Extraordinary Life of Hattie McDaniel (2002); Grammy for Whoopi: Original Broadway Recording; Oscar for Ghost (1990); Tony for Thoroughly Modern Millie (2002)

Scott Rudin: Emmy for He Makes Me Feel Like Dancing (1984); Grammy for The Book of Mormon (2011); Oscar for No Country for Old Men (2007); Tony for Passion (1994)

* Shoutout to Barbra Streisand, Liza Minnelli and James Earl Jones, who have won EGOTs with special/honorary awards.

Video On Demand
Sponsored by:
This Show is in
High Demand
We just released a new round of tickets with the best availability between November 7, 2017 and March 5, 2018. If you are unable to find tickets today, check back soon!