Skip Navigation

Drama League Announces 2006 Nominees

Drama League Announces 2006 Nominees
Idina Menzel in See What I Wanna See
Nominations for the 2006 Drama League Awards were announced today. The Drama League honors both Broadway and off-Broadway shows and is the oldest theatrical institution to give awards pre-dating the Tony Awards by 12 years.

Some notes on this year's nominees:

—None of the plays reported as Pulitzer Prize finalists Red Light Winter, Miss Witherspoon and The Intelligent Design of Jenny Chow received nominations for Distinguished Production of a Play.

—The Broadway productions of Hot Feet, Shining City and Tarzan will be considered for next season's awards, as the nominating committee was not able to see these shows prior to the eligibility cut-off date.

Bridge and Tunnel and Well were ineligible for this year's Drama League awards, as the shows were previously honored by the Drama League in their earlier Off-Broadway incarnations.

Here is a complete list of the nominees:

Distinguished Production of a Play
Dedication or The Stuff of Dreams
The History Boys
The Lieutenant of Inishmore
Stuff Happens
Measure for Pleasure
Rabbit Hole
The Ruby Sunrise

Distinguished Production of a Musical
The Color Purple
The Drowsy Chaperone
Grey Gardens
Jersey Boys
[title of show]
See What I Wanna See
The Wedding Singer

Distinguished Production of a Revival—Play
All's Well That Ends Well
Awake and Sing!
The Caine Mutiny Court-Martial
Celebration and the Room
Faith Healer
Landscape of the Body
A Soldier's Play
Three Days of Rain
The Trip to Bountiful

Distinguished Production of a Revival—Musical
Jacques Brel is Alive and Well and Living in Paris
The Pajama Game
The Sweeney Todd
The Threepenny Opera
The Two Gentlemen of Verona

Distinguished Performance Award
Patti Allison, Fanny Hill
Brian Bedford, As You Like It
Kate Burton, The Constant Wife
Carolee Carmello, Lestat
Michael Cerveris, Sweeney Todd
Staceyann Chin, Border/Clash
Harry Connick Jr., The Pajama Game
Alan Cumming, The Threepenny Opera
Michael Cumpsty, Hamlet
Jim Dale, The Threepenny Opera
Christopher Denham, Red Light Winter
Taye Diggs, A Soldier's Play
Christine Ebersole, Grey Gardens
Carson Elrod, Based on a Totally True Story
Felicia Fields, The Color Purple
Ralph Fiennes, Faith Healer
Felicia Finley, The Wedding Singer
Sutton Foster, The Drowsy Chaperone
Maria Friedman, The Woman in White
Domnhall Gleeson, The Lieutenant of Inishmore
John Glover, The Paris Letter
Renee Elise Goldsberry, Two Gentlemen of Verona
Richard Griffiths, The History Boys
Danai Gurira, In the Continuum
Christian Hoff, Jersey Boys
Jack Holmes, RFK
Dana Ivey, Mrs. Warren's Profession
Peter Francis James, Stuff Happens
LaChanze, The Color Purple
Nathan Lane, Dedication, or the Stuff of Dreams; The Odd Couple
Cyndi Lauper, The Threepeny Opera
Megan Lawrence, The Pajama Game
Norm Lewis, Two Gentlemen of Verona
Patti LuPone, Sweeney Todd
Stephen Lynch, The Wedding Singer
Anthony Mackie, A Soldier's Play
Gay Marshall, Jacques Brel Is Alive and Well and Living in Paris
Bob Martin, The Drowsy Chaperone
Ian McDiarmid, Faith Healer
Idina Menzel, See What I Wanna See
S. Epatha Merkerson, Birdie Blue
Janet Metz, Bingo: The Musical
Debra Monk, Show People
Euan Morton, Measure For Pleasure
Tom Nelis, Score
Cynthia Nixon, Rabbit Hole
Denis O'Hare, Sweet Charity
Jon Peterson, George M. Cohan Tonight!
Chita Rivera, Chita Rivera: The Dancer's Life
Julia Roberts, Three Days of Rain
Paul Rudd, Three Days of Rain
Mark Ruffalo, Awake And Sing!
Nikkole Salter, In the Continuum
David Schwimmer, The Caine Mutiny Court-Martial
Sherie Rene Scott, Landscape of the Body
Marian Seldes, Dedication, or the Stuff of Dreams
Sir Antony Sher, Primo
John Slattery, Rabbit Hole
Lois Smith, The Trip to Bountiful
Michael Stuhlbarg, Measure for Pleasure
Mary Testa, See What I Wanna See
Julie White, The Little Dog Laughed
Dianne Wiest, Memory House; Third
David Wilmot, The Lieutenant of Inishmore
Mary Louise Wilson, Grey Gardens
Michael Winther, Songs From an Unmade Bed
John Lloyd Young, Jersey Boys
ENSEMBLE, History Boys
ENSEMBLE, Stuff Happens
ENSEMBLE, [title of show]

In addition to the announcement of the winners of the awards listed above, as we previously reported, at the Drama League luncheon on May 5, Patti LuPone will receive the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award, Des McAnuff will be honored with the Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing and Marian Seldes will receive the Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award. Alan Cumming is on board to host the event.

Video On Demand
Sponsored by:
This Show is in
High Demand
We just released a new round of tickets with the best availability between November 7, 2017 and March 5, 2018. If you are unable to find tickets today, check back soon!