Skip Navigation

Debra Messing Set to Co-Host Drama League Awards with David Hyde Pierce

Debra Messing Set to Co-Host Drama League Awards with David Hyde Pierce
Debra Messing
Debra Messing and David Hyde Pierce will co-host the 79th Annual Drama League Awards.

Emmy winner and Smash leading lady Debra Messing will join David Hyde Pierce as co-host of the 79th Annual Drama League Awards, which will be held on May 17 at the Marriott Marquis Times Square.

Messing and Pierce lead a group of Broadway veterans who will serve as honorary co-chairs for the event, including Bobby Cannavale, Alan Cumming, Edie Falco, Judith Ivey, Nathan Lane, Judith Light, Patina Miller, Donna Murphy, Fiona Shaw, Holland Taylor, Cicely Tyson and Michael Urie.

Unlike other theater honors, the Drama League Awards will name victors in a select number of categories: Distinguished Play, Distinguished Revival of a Play, Distinguished Musical, Distinguished Revival of a Musical and Distinguished Performance Award (a casual 60 performers are nominated).

Bernadette Peters will receive the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award, presented by Mary Tyler Moore; Madison Square Garden Entertainment and the Rockettes will receive the Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award, presented by Tommy Tune; and director Jerry Mitchell will receive the Founders Award for Excellence in Directing, presented by his Kinky Boots composer Cyndi Lauper. The slate of presenters also includes Rachel Chavkin, Pam MacKinnon, Diane Paulus and Alex Timbers.

Video On Demand
Sponsored by:
This Show is in
High Demand
We just released a new round of tickets with the best availability between November 7, 2017 and March 5, 2018. If you are unable to find tickets today, check back soon!